B.C. election 2020: Boundary-Similkameen results

Roly Russell of the BC NDP is projected to win in Boundary-Similkameen. At dissolution, this seat was held by a BC Liberal member.

Boundary-Similkameen is a bit of a sneaky riding.

BC Liberal Linda Larson took the seat by nearly 2,300 votes in 2017. But Larson didn’t run again and this riding showed up on the BC NDP radar as a target to flip in 2020.

The NDP held the seat in 1991, a carryover from former MLA Bill Barlee’s victory in a 1988 by-election.

Petra Veintimilla ran for the BC Liberals. Veintimilla is a current Oliver councillor.

Russell is a director for the Regional District of Kootenay Boundary.

Story continues below advertisement
Click to play video: 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?'
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?


  • BC Liberals: Petra Veintimilla
  • BC NDP: Roly Russell
  • BC Conservative: Darryl Seres
  • Wexit BC: Arlyn Greig

Swing riding meter

The BC Liberals won by 10.07 per cent in 2017. It was the 22nd closest race that year, and the 12th closest of the 43 seats won by the party.

2017 election results

  • BC Liberal: Linda Larson — 9,513 votes (42.8%)
  • BC NDP: Colleen Ross — 7,275 votes (32.73%)
  • BC Greens: Vonnie Lavers — 2,274 votes (10.23%)
  • Independent: Peter Entwistle — 3,165 votes (14.24%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.


Sponsored content