Waterloo Mayor Dave Jaworsky to return for 2nd term

Waterloo Mayor Dave Jaworsky will not be seeking a third term this fall. Facebook

Dave Jaworsky easily held on to his seat as Waterloo mayor Monday night.

Jaworsky collected more than 17,000 votes, well above his closest challenger, Kelly Steiss.

READ MORE: Kathryn McGarry unseats Cambridge Mayor Doug Craig 

The lone upset of the night occurred in Ward 5, where Jen Vasic knocked off incumbent Mark Whaley.

But three other councillors chose not to return meaning more than half of the council won’t be back.

In Ward 1, Sandra Hamner had almost twice as many votes as Xia Lei to fill the seat vacated by Bob Mavin.

In Ward 2, Royce Bodaly came out ahead of three other challengers – John Arthur McCarthy, Janice Moore and Xin Tan — in a hotly contested race which saw the four separated by fewer than 225 votes. He will fill the seat vacated by Brian Bourke.

Story continues below advertisement

In Ward 7, Tenille Bonoguore held off Elizabeth Sproule in a ward that saw a heavy turnout. She will replace Melissa Durell who chose to vacate her seat.

Durell and Mavin both ran unopposed in 2014.

There was a 34.22 per cent turnout for Monday’s election, down from 35.93 per cent in 2014.

The new council will be officially sworn in on Dec. 3.

Several local municipalities including Wilmot and Woolwich had issues with online voting, which prevented the region from announcing who would be the next regional chair.

READ MORE: Berry Vrbanovic easily wins second term as Kitchener mayor

Ken Seiling retired as regional chair after more than 30 years on the job.

The results of the election will be made official later in the week.

As a reminder, these results are unofficial. The official results will be released later this week.


Sponsored content