Manitoba opposition party members sworn in at legislature

Click to play video: 'NDP, PC MLAs sworn in'
NDP, PC MLAs sworn in
Manitoba NDP MLA's not part of the cabinet were sworn in today along with the opposition PC MLA's – Oct 23, 2023

Manitoba’s new official opposition has been sworn in.

Progressive Conservative Leader Heather Stefanson and 21 other Tory MLAs took their oaths at the provincial legislature on Monday.

The newly formed PC caucus includes eight former cabinet ministers, three MLAs who haven’t previously held cabinet positions, and 10 rookie politicians.

Stefanson said the official opposition, which didn’t win enough seats to form government in the Oct. 3 election, will hold the New Democrat government accountable for the promises it made during the campaign. The NDP committed to new healthcare facilities with more staff, balancing the budget without raising taxes and ending chronic homelessness within two terms.

Breaking news from Canada and around the world sent to your email, as it happens.

During her election night concession speech, Stefanson announced she would be stepping down as Tory leader, but later vowed to stay on until a new leader is chosen.

Story continues below advertisement
Click to play video: 'Manitoba Tory caucus backs Stefanson’s decision to stay on as leader: chair'
Manitoba Tory caucus backs Stefanson’s decision to stay on as leader: chair

Sponsored content