Alberta election: Strathcona-Sherwood Park results

Global News has projected that Nate Glubish will take the riding of Strathcona-Sherwood Park for the United Conservative Party (UCP).

Below is a full list of the candidates in the riding of Strathcona-Sherwood Park, which includes Sherwood Park east of Clover Bar Road and south of Wye Road, along with Edmonton’s eastern outskirts.

Quick take

With current NDP MLA Estefania Cortes-Vargas announcing that she won’t run in this election, the Strathcona-Sherwood Park race is wide open.


NDP: Moira Vane
United Conservative Party: Nate Glubish
Alberta Party: Dave Quest
Alberta Advantage Party: Donald Melanson


In 2015, Cortes-Vargas won this riding and served for one term. She was one of three openly LGBTQ MLAs, a first in Alberta, in Notley’s government. Cortes-Vargas was also the youngest government whip in Alberta’s history.

Story continues below advertisement

In 2015, Cortes-Vargas won the seat over PC incumbent Dave Quest, who had held the riding since 2008.