Alberta election: Edmonton-South West results

Three days after the Alberta election, the NDP candidate for Edmonton-South West conceded.

While some votes still had to be counted Friday, at last count, UCP candidate Kaycee Madu led the NDP’s John Archer by 856 votes with 1,695 out-of-district votes to count.

READ MORE: Alberta NDP candidate in Edmonton-South West concedes, giving UCP 1st seat in city

Archer confirmed to Global News Friday he called Madu.

In a message on Twitter, Madu wrote: “My NDP opponent has called me to congratulate me on winning the Edmonton-South West election. Thank you, everyone, for your kindness, your trust and your support. We have a lot of work to do.”

Below is a full list of the candidates in the riding of Edmonton-South West, which includes the western and southern edges of Edmonton, including rural areas. It includes several new neighbourhoods south and west of Anthony Henday Drive.

Story continues below advertisement

Quick take

NDP MLA Thomas Dang currently represents the riding of Edmonton-South West, but in the 2019 election will be running in the newly-created neighbouring riding of Edmonton-South.


NDP: John Archer
United Conservative Party: Kaycee Madu
Alberta Party:  Mo Elsalhy
Alberta Advantage Party: Marilyn Burns
Alberta Independence Party: Kerry Douglas
Green Party: Rigel Vincent


This riding was created in the 2010 boundary redistribution. PC incumbent Matt Jeneroux lost his seat in Edmonton-South West to NDP candidate Thomas Dang in 2015.

There is no incumbent in the 2019 election.

Sponsored content