B.C. election 2020: Coquitlam-Maillardville results

Incumbent BC NDP candidate Selina Robinson will win the riding of Coquitlam-Maillardville, Global News projects.

Robinson, who served as housing and citizens’ services minister in the NDP government, has held the riding since 2013.

Robinson won the seat by a wide margin in 2017, but previous contests have not been cake walks for the NDP.

Click to play video: 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

In the 2013 election, Robinson won by just 41 votes, and the BC Liberals have come within 1,000 votes of capturing it in 2005 and 2009.

Story continues below advertisement

Still, the New Democrats have elected an MLA in a version of the district in every vote since 1979, with the exceptions of 2001 and 1983.

Nicola Spurling, who ran for the Greens in 2017, is trying her hand at the riding again.

The suburbs closer to Mundy Lake and Colony Farm tend to support the Liberals, while NDP support is fairly evenly distributed through the riding.


  • BC NDP: Selina Robinson
  • BC Liberals: Will Davis
  • BC Greens: Nicola Spurling

Swing riding meter

The BC NDP have won this riding in six of the last seven elections, though the 2013 contest was a squeaker.

Robinson won in 2017 with 12.91 per cent of the vote, making it the 30th closest of 87 races across the province. It was the 15th closest of the 41 seats the NDP won.

2017 election results

  • BC NDP: Selina Robinson — 11,438 votes (50.61%)
  • BC Liberals: Steve Kim — 8,519 votes (37.7%)
  • BC Greens: Nicola Spurling — 2,467 votes (10.92%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Story continues below advertisement

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.

Sponsored content