Record number of women elected in New Brunswick 2020 provincial election

A 'Vote Here' sign for the 2014 New Brunswick provincial election is seen outside a polling station in Quispamsis, N.B. on Sept. 22, 2014. Brion Robinson / Global News

Fourteen women have been elected in the New Brunswick election Monday night, with Progressive Conservative Leader Blaine Higgs, whose party is projected to form a majority government, saying that nine of the women elected are from the party.

“It’s a new PC record,” Higgs said in his speech.

Five of the nine women elected for the PC party have not been elected to the legislature before.

Read more: Global News coverage of the 2020 New Brunswick provincial election

Read next: Canada supports U.S. decision to shoot down suspected Chinese spy balloon, Anand says

The party also set a record with the number of women running for the party at 17.

Some of the women elected include Sherry Wilson of Moncton Southwest, Tammy Scott-Wallace of Sussex–Fundy–St. Martins, Arlene Dunn of Saint John Harbour and Dorothy Shephard of Saint John Lancaster.

Story continues below advertisement

Read more: New Brunswick PCs projected to form majority government as Liberal leader Kevin Vickers defeated

Read next: Ukraine’s Zelenskyy revokes citizenship of numerous former politicians

Of the 14 women elected, three are Liberals, one is a People’s Alliance MLA and one is a Green MLA.

New Brunswick Liberal Leader Kevin Vickers was defeated in the riding of Miramichi by People’s Alliance candidate Michelle Conroy.

Conroy was the riding’s incumbent, serving as a Member of the Legislative Assembly for Miramichi since 2018.

Click to play video: 'Progressive Conservatives to form N.B. government after pandemic election campaign gamble'
Progressive Conservatives to form N.B. government after pandemic election campaign gamble

Sponsored content