New Brunswick election: Miramichi

Liberal party leader Kevin Vickers loses Miramichi to PANB incumbent Michelle Conroy in the 2020 election.

Riding background

The 2013 redistricting process saw the creation of a new riding called Miramichi. The new district was comprised of the portions of the former ridings of Miramichi Centre and Miramichi-Bay du Vin.


Liberal: Kevin Vickers

  • New Brunswick Liberal Party Leader
  • Former Sergeant-at-Arms of the House of Commons

Progressive Conservative: Charles Barry

NDP: Eileen Clancy Teslenko

Green: Josh Shaddick

People’s Alliance: Michelle Conroy (Incumbent)

Story continues below advertisement

Independent: Tristan Sutherland



People’s Alliance candidate Michelle Conroy won the seat with 47 per cent of the vote, defeating incumbent Liberal Bill Fraser who earned 35 per cent of the vote.

Peggy Mclean of the PC party earned 14.3 per cent of the vote while Louann Savage of the Green Party and Douglas Mullin of the NDP took home less than 2.3 per cent of the vote, respectively.


Bill Fraser, Liberal incumbent for the former riding of Miramichi-Bay du Vin, and Robert Trevors, PC incumbent for Miramichi Centre competed in the newly formed riding.

Fraser won after earning 50 per cent of the votes while Trevors earned 34.5 per cent.


Liberal incumbent Bill Fraser retained his seat in the riding of Miramichi-Bay du Vin.

PC candidate Robert Trevors defeated Liberal incumbent John Winston Foran in the riding of Miramichi Centre during the 2010 election.