2019 Canada election results: Bourassa

Liberal incumbent Emmanuel Dubourg has been re-elected in the Montreal riding of Bourassa.

With 50 of 189 polls reporting, Dubourg had nearly 60 per cent of votes. Bloc Quebecois candidate Anne-Marie Lavoie was at 20 per cent of votes, followed by NDP’s Konrad Lamour at 7 per cent.

Located on the southern banks of the Rivière des Prairies, Bourassa includes part of the Ahuntsic-Cartierville borough as well as the borough of Montreal North. According to 2016 Census, Spanish and Arabic are the most widely used languages in the riding after French (67.8 per cent) and English (7.8 per cent).

History: Bourassa was created in 1968 from the former riding of Mercier and Laval. It is named after the politician/publisher Henri Bourassa, it was later renamed to Montreal – Bourassa. In 1979, Montreal – Bourassa was abolished and the new Bourassa riding was created. The Liberals have never lost an election in the riding with the exception of 1988 and 1993 when the PC’s and the Bloc won, respectively. 

Story continues below advertisement


Liberal: Emmanuel Dubourg (Incumbent)

Conservatives: Catherine Lefebvre

Green: Payton Ashe

Bloc Québécois: Anne-Marie Lavoie

NDP: Konrad Lamour 

PPC: Louis Léger

Sponsored content