2019 Canada election results: Labrador

The Liberal Party’s Yvonne Jones has been elected in the riding of Labrador.

With 55 of 90 polls reporting, Global News has declared Jones the winner in the riding.

Voters in Labrador first elected Jones of the Liberal party as their MP in the 2015 federal election.

Jones served as the parliamentary secretary to the minister of intergovernmental and northern affairs and internal trade.

This region has been a stalwart Liberal stronghold, electing just two candidates from right-wing parties since 1949.


Liberal: Yvonne Jones (Incumbent)

Conservative: Larry Flemming

NDP: Michelene Gray

Green: Tyler Colbourne

Global News is featuring the candidates for all parties running candidates in the upcoming 2019 general election. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Canada. 

Story continues below advertisement


The riding consists of all of Labrador and was the only riding in the province that did not have a boundary adjustment for the 2015 federal election.

More geographical information on the electoral district can be found at Elections Canada. 


This region has elected just two candidates from right-wing parties since 1949, with the most recent coming in 2011 when Conservative Peter Penashue defeated the Liberal nominee by only 79 votes.

But in 2013, Penashue resigned amid questions about his election spending. He attempted to be re-elected in a byelection later that year, but voters went back to their Liberal ways, electing Yvonne Jones over Penashue by 15.6 per cent.

Sponsored content