Alberta election: Edmonton-West Henday results

Unofficial results released by Elections Alberta on Friday afternoon showed NDP candidate Jonathon Carson won the seat in Edmonton-West Henday.

Below is a full list of the incumbent and candidates in Edmonton-West Henday, a renamed and redrawn riding in west and northwest Edmonton created for the 2019 provincial election. It consists of two residential areas separated by a large industrial area.

The riding includes the Calder area in the northwest and in the west end, neighbourhoods near West Edmonton Mall and Lewis Estates on the west side of Anthony Henday Drive.

Quick take

NDP MLA Jonathon Carson, who represents the former Edmonton-Meadowlark constituency, is running again in this redrawn riding.


NDP: Jonathon Carson
United Conservative Party: Nicole Williams 
Alberta Party: Winston Leung
Liberal Party: Leah McRorie
Alberta Independence Party: David Bjorkman


Due to electoral boundaries being redrawn, this is a new riding for the 2019 Alberta election. The riding is the result of the Electoral Boundaries Commission redrawing the boundaries for the Edmonton-Meadowlark constituency.

Story continues below advertisement

As the changes moved the Meadowlark neighbourhood out of the constituency, it was renamed Edmonton-West Henday to better reflect its geographic location.

The former riding had switched support between Progressive Conservative and Liberal candidates with regular frequency since it was created in 1971, until the 2015 orange crush — which saw the Alberta NDP stomp out a 44-year PC dynasty in the province.

Sponsored content