Canada election results: St. John’s South—Mount Pearl

Liberal candidate and former cabinet minister Seamus O’Regan is projected to win the riding of St. John’s South—Mount Pearl.

O’Regan overtook NDP candidate Ray Critch with more than 50 per cent of the vote, securing his third term in Parliament. Conservative candidate Steve Hodder finished third with less than 20 per cent.

This riding contains the south end of St. John’s, the city of Mount Pearl, and the town of Petty Harbour—Maddox Cove. Its neighbouring ridings are Avalon and St. John’s East.

It was known as St. John’s South before a redistribution order in 2004.

In 2015, O’Regan won his first term as part of the red wave in Newfoundland and Labrador, where the Liberal Party swept all the seats in the province.

O’Regan reclaimed his seat in the 2019 election, earning more than 50 per cent of the votes in his riding. The Liberal MP previously served in the federal cabinet as the minister of veterans affairs, as well as the minister of indigenous services.

Story continues below advertisement

He was appointed minister of natural resources following his re-election in 2019.


NDP: Ray Critch

Conservative: Steve Hodder

Liberal: Seamus O’Regan (incumbent)

People’s Party: Georgia Faith Stewart

Sponsored content