B.C. election 2020: Esquimalt-Metchosin results

Incumbent BC NDP candidate Mitzi Dean will win the riding of Esquimalt-Metchosin, Global News projects.

Dean, a former social worker and non-profit executive, won the district by a margin of nearly 19 per cent in 2017.

Esquimalt has long been fertile territory for the BC NDP, and the party has won some version of the district in every election except for one since 1979.

Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

The BC Liberals nominated public affairs consultant RJ Senko.

Story continues below advertisement

The riding is among several that the BC Greens were eyeing on Vancouver Island, after a strong finish in the 2017 election.

Esquimalt-Metchosin is often described as working class. Most of the constituency touches the water and the economic driver is the Esquimalt Navy Base.

Dean says during her time in office she has focused on her values about not leaving anyone behind and is quick to acknowledge service cuts in her riding under the BC Liberals.

The four municipalities in the region have also seen some growth as young families move out of Victoria’s core looking for more affordability. That movement has led to greater congestion and is something coming up often in the riding.

“People want to be able to contribute to local businesses, the local market for example,” Dean said.

“People are worried about finding a safe and secure home they can afford that they can take care of their family in.”

In that contest, Green candidate Andy MacKinnon finished in third place, but only about 650 votes behind the Liberal candidate and Esquimalt Mayor Barb Desjardins.

Mackinnon ran again for the Greens.

The NDP has traditionally done well in Esquimalt proper, while right-leaning candidates have drawn their support from the newer Victoria suburbs of View Royal and Colwood.

Story continues below advertisement


  • BC NDP: Mitzi Dean
  • BC Liberals: RJ Senko
  • BC Greens: Andy MacKinnon
  • Independent: Desta McPherson

Swing riding meter

The NDP has won a version of this riding in nine of the last 10 elections in Esquimalt. The single exception was the 2001 election when the Liberals swept to power leaving the New Democrats with just two seats.

In 2017, Dean won with a margin of 18.63 per cent. It was the 45th closest of 87 races across B.C., and the 20th closest of the 41 seats won by the NDP.

2017 election results

  • BC NDP: Mitzi Dean — 11,816 votes (46.24%)
  • BC Liberal: Barb Desjardins — 7,055 votes (27.62%)
  • BC Greens: Andy MacKinnon — 6,339 votes (24.81%)
  • Libertarian: Josh Steffler — 171 votes (0.67%)
  • Independent: Delmar Martay — 102 votes (0.4%)
  • Communist: Tyler Strandlund — 65 votes (0.25%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.