B.C. election 2020: Vancouver-Langara results

BC Liberal candidate Michael Lee is hoping to hold on to the seat of Vancouver-Langara,

Before the mail-in and absentee ballots have been counted Lee received 5,356 votes and leads NDP candidate Tesicca Truong by 643 votes. Truong has received 4,713 votes. There are still 9,203 votes to be counted.

The vote counting will begin at 10 a.m. on Friday, November 6.

Truong would become one the youngest members of the NDP caucus if she wins.

Lee won in 2017 by fewer than 2,000 votes, and wasn’t tapped for then-premier Christy Clark’s short-lived cabinet.

Once Clark resigned, Lee entered the race to replace her as leader of the BC Liberals, surprising many with a strong showing during the party vote.

Story continues below advertisement

Despite earning the most votes over the first four rounds, he finished in third place behind runner up Dianne Watts and winner Andrew Wilkinson.

Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

Since then, Lee has served primarily as the critic to the attorney general, and has struggled at times to get big attention.

Lee has not ruled out running for leadership of the BC Liberals again now that Andrew Wilkinson has announced he is leaving.

Although Vancouver-Langara has been a Liberal stronghold, there was optimism from the NDP to flip this seat.

Truong is the co-founder of CityHive, a group that advocates for youth involvement in civic planning and decision-making.

Nominated Candidates

  • BC Liberals: Michael Lee
  • BC NDP: Tesicca Truong
  • BC Greens: Stephanie Hendy
  • Libertarian: Paul Matthews

Swing Riding Meter

The BC Liberals have held Vancouver-Langara since it was created in 1991.

Story continues below advertisement

It was the 19th closest race in B.C., based on the winning percentage in 2017. Lee won by 9.4 per cent. The riding was the ninth closest Liberal seat out of the party’s 43 seats won that night.

Election Results 2017

  • BC Liberals: Michael Lee — 10,047 votes (47.46%)
  • BC NDP: James Wang — 8,058 votes (38.06%)
  • BC Greens: Janet Fraser — 2,894 votes (13.67%)
  • Your Political Party: Surinder Singh Trehan — 172 votes (0.81%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.