B.C. election 2020: New Westminster results

Global News projects Jennifer Whiteside of the BC NDP will win the riding of New Westminster.

One of the oldest electoral districts in B.C., the riding of New Westminster has existed since B.C.’s first election in 1871.

The district is an NDP stronghold and has gone to New Democrats in 15 of the last 16 elections.

NDP incumbent and Minister of Mental Health and Addictions Judy Darcy has held the riding since 2013. Darcy more than doubled the vote share of her next closest competitor in 2017.

Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

However, Darcy did not run for re-election. The NDP nominated Whiteside, Hospital Employees’ Union’ secretary-business manager.

Story continues below advertisement

Green deputy leader Jonina Campbell ran here in 2017, coming in second place with more than 25 per cent of the vote.

Lorraine Brett, the BC Liberals’ 2017 candidate, is running again.


  • BC NDP: Jennifer Whiteside
  • BC Liberals: Lorraine Brett
  • BC Greens: Cyrus Sy
  • Conservative: Benny Ogden
  • Libertarian: Donald Wilson

Swing riding meter

This was considered a safe NDP seat. Darcy won the seat by 26.86 per cent in 2017, making it the 67th least competitive of 87 races in the province. There were only seven ridings where the NDP finished with a wider margin of victory.

2017 election results

  • BC NDP: Judy Darcy — 14,377 votes (51.93%)
  • BC Greens: Jonina Campbell — 6,939 votes (25.07%)
  • BC Liberals: Lorraine Brett — 5,870 votes (21.20%)
  • Social Credit: James Crosty — 280 votes (1.12%)
  • Libertarian: Rex Brocki — 174 votes (0.69%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.