B.C. election 2020: Fraser-Nicola results

BC Liberal Jackie Tegart has been reelected in the riding of Fraser-Nicola.

Two-term BC Liberal Party incumbent Jackie Tegart defeated NDP candidate Aaron Sumexheltza by fewer than 300 votes, as of Saturday, Nov. 7.

Sumexheltza took to Twitter to concede.

Story continues below advertisement

In the campaign, the BC NDP engaged in a battle with both the BC Liberals and members of its own party in Fraser-Nicola.

The party nominated Sumexheltza, an Indigenous leader and lawyer, but saw its entire riding association quit almost immediately afterward.

The reason why: Harry Lali.

Lali, a long-time NDP MLA, wants to run in the riding again and has the support from the executive. In 2017, Sumexhelta was John Horgan’s preferred candidate but Lali ended up winning the nomination and then losing on election night.

Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

Sumexhelta appears to have been done in by that split. Dennis Adamson, one of 13 NDP riding executives who resigned in protest over his nomination, ran in the election and took 438 votes — more than Tegart’s margin of victory.

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal MLA Jackie Tegart is running again. She beat Lali by 522 votes in 2017. She beat him by 614 votes in 2013.

Lali has shown the region, including Hope and Merritt, can be won by the NDP — but only if they can avoid losing to themselves.


  • BC NDP: Aaron Sumexheltza
  • BC Liberals: Jackie Tegart
  • BC Greens: Jonah Timms
  • Independent: Dennis Adamson
  • Independent: Mike Bhangu

Swing Riding Meter

The riding has only existed since 2009. Harry Lali won the seat in 2009 and then lost to Jackie Tegart and the Liberals in 2013 and 2017.

Fraser Nicola was the sixth closest riding in the province based on the winning percentage in 2017. Tegart won by 3.8 per cent. The riding was the fourth closest of the 43 seats won by the Liberals in 2017.

Election Results 2017

  • Liberal: Jackie Tegart — 6,597 votes (41.8%)
  • NDP: Harry Lali — 6,073 votes (38.5%)
  • Green: Arthur Green — 2,519 votes (16%)
  • Social Credit: Michael Henshall — 596 votes (3.8%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.