2019 Canada election results: Yorkton-Melville

Conservative candidate Cathay Wagantall has been re-elected MP for the Yorkton-Melville riding. Wagantall was first elected MP in 2015.

The riding of Yorkton-Melville occupies the southeastern part of central Saskatchewan. The riding is named for Yorkton and Melville, the two largest communities in the area.

The southern boundary is the Qu’Appelle River, and the eastern side runs along the Manitoba border. The northern riding boundary is near Highway 3, along the communities of Mistatim and Hudson Bay, then east of Highway 9 stopping at the Opaskwayak Cree Nation. The western boundary runs along multiple RM lines that include the communities of Bjorkdale, St. Brieux, Watson, Wadena, Foam Lake and Lembrug.


Despite this riding existing since 1968 it has only ever been represented by three MPs. For the first 25 years of its existence, New Democrat Lorne Nystrom held the seat.

Story continues below advertisement

Nystrom lost the 1993 election to then Reform Party member Garry Breitkreuz. Breitkreuz held the seat until 2015, also under the banner of the Alliance and Conservative Parties.

The Tories held onto the seat in the 2015 election with Cathay Wagantall’s victory. She earned 59 per cent of the vote in that contest. The NDP’s Doug Ottenbreit was a distant second at 20 per cent.


Conservative: Cathay Wagantall (incumbent)

Liberal: Connor Moen

NDP: Carter Antoine

Green Party: Stacey Wiebe

PPC: Ryan Schultz

Sponsored content