2019 Canada election results: Saint John—Rothesay

Voters in Saint John—Rothesay reelected Liberal incumbent Wayne Long as their MP in the 2015 election.

Long has not been afraid to criticize the Liberal government, which still earned him a reelection in a riding that leans Conservative but has elected members of both parties in the past.

Long had to fend off a challenge from the man he defeated in 2015, Conservative Rodney Weston.


Liberal: Wayne Long (Incumbent)

Conservative: Rodney Weston

NDP: Armand Cormier

Green: Ann McAllister

PPC: Adam J. C. Salesse

Independent: Neville Barnett

Independent: Stuart Jamieson

Global News is featuring the candidates for all parties running candidates in the upcoming 2019 general election. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Canada. 

Story continues below advertisement


This riding, formerly just Saint John, includes the port city and its major suburbs, as well as Mispec.


This riding has elected both Liberals and PCs/Conservatives throughout its history. Its best-known MP was former Saint John mayor Elsie Wayne, who was one of just two PC MPs left standing after the 1993 election.

Two-term Conservative MP Rodney Weston was defeated in 2015 and is now looking to retake his old seat.

Sponsored content