2019 Canada election results: Brome—Missisquoi

Global News has declared Liberal Lyne Bessette elected in Brome Missisquoi in the Eastern Townships.

She succeeds Denis Paradis who won the seat in 2015 for the Liberal Party in 2015.  He previously held the seat from 1995 to 2006 but decided not to run this year.

Bessette is a Canadian Olympian and former professional cyclist.

The race was declared past 1 a.m. Bessette found herself in a very tight race against the Bloc Québécois candidate Monique Allard.


The municipal and electoral boundaries of the Brome—Missisquoi riding in southern Quebec includes the Regional County Municipality of Brome-Missisquoi, the municipalities of Saint-Sébastien, Henryville, Noyan, Saint-Georges-de-Clarenceville, Venise-en-Québec and Bromont. The riding also includes the Regional County Municipality of Memphrémagog excluding Stanstead, Ayer’s Cliff, North Hatley, Ogden, Sainte-Catherine-de-Hatley, Hatley and Stanstead.

Story continues below advertisement


Liberal: Lyne Bessette

Conservative: Bruno Côté

NDP: Sylvie Jetté

Bloc Québécois: Monique Allard

Green: Normand Dallaire

PPC: François Poulin

Sponsored content