Alberta election: Edmonton-Riverview results

Global News projects incumbent NDP Lori Sigurdson to win in Edmonton-Riverview.

Below is a full list of the incumbent and candidates in the riding of Edmonton-Riverview, a riding in the south and west side of the city, encompassing the University of Alberta area south to Whitemud Drive, and west of the North Saskatchewan River to include some neighbourhoods in west Edmonton.

Quick take

NDP MLA and Minister of Seniors and Housing Lori Sigurdson is running again in the riding, and will be facing off against seasoned political strategist Katherine O’Neill, who was a long-time member and president of the former Progressive Conservative Party, and is now running for the Alberta Party.


NDP: Lori Sigurdson (Incumbent)
United Conservative Party: Karamarie Barker
Alberta Party: Katherine O’Neill
Alberta Independence Party: Corey MacFadden
Alberta Liberal Party: Indy Randhawa
Independent: Rob Burshaw


Edmonton-Riverview had been a Liberal stronghold from its creation in 1997 until 2012, when the PCs won the seat. It was later won by the NDP in the 2015 election.

Story continues below advertisement

Sigurdson was part of the 2015 orange crush, which saw the Alberta NDP stomp out a 44-year Progressive Conservative dynasty in the province.

Sponsored content