New Brunswick election: Moncton Northwest

Riding background

The 2013 redistricting process saw the creation of the new riding of Moncton Northwest. The newly formed district contains parts of former ridings Moncton Crescent and Petitcodiac.


Liberal: Courtney Pringle-Carver

Progressive Conservative: Ernie Steeves (incumbent)

NDP: Cyprien Okana

  • President of a marketing firm

Green: Keagan Slupsky

People’s Alliance: Myrna Geldart



John Betts, PC incumbent for Moncton Crescent, would not re-offer in 2014.

Story continues below advertisement

PC candidate Ernie Steeves would win the 2014 election in Moncton Northwest, defeating Liberal candidate Brian Hicks. 

Steeves earned 42.2 per cent of the vote in his win while Hicks earned 38.8 per cent.


Moncton Crescent and Petitcodiac both elected PC candidates in 2010.

Tory incumbent John Betts retained his seat in the riding of Moncton Crescent while Sherry Wilson was elected in the Petitcodiac riding, defeating former PC cabinet minister Wally Stiles who had crossed the floor to the Liberals and joined their cabinet.