B.C. municipal election 2018: Vancouver results

Kennedy Stewart has been elected the next mayor of Vancouver.

The former NDP MP narrowly defeated Non-Partisan Association (NPA) mayoral candidate Ken Sim by 984 votes, in a competition that ended up much closer than many analysts had expected.

Independent candidate Shauna Sylvester finished in third place.

The result came after an eventful mayoral campaign that saw prominent politicians and want-to-be politicians clamouring for a shot at the job.

Political newcomer Sim was the NPA’s nominee for the mayor’s job after beating John Coupar and Glen Chernen in a bizarre nomination battle. NPA city councillor Hector Bremner was told by the party’s executive that he could not run.

Story continues below advertisement

Vancouver has been at the epicentre of some of the province’s biggest issues. Housing affordability, the opioid epidemic, marijuana legalization and transit will all be huge issues during the election campaign.

Stewart is the first independent candidate to be elected mayor of Vancouver since Mike Harcourt left office in 1986.

WATCH: All you need to know about the 2018 Vancouver election

Click to play video: 'All you need to know about the 2018 Vancouver election'
All you need to know about the 2018 Vancouver election



Hector Bremner (YES Vancouver)

Ken Sim (NPA)

Wai Young (Coalition Vancouver)

David Chen (ProVancouver)

Kennedy Stewart (Independent)

Story continues below advertisement

Shauna Sylvester (Independent)

Maynard Aubichon

G�l�k Z Buday

Sean Cassidy

Ping Chan

Connie Fogal

Mike Hansen

Fred Harding

Sophia C Kaiser

Jason Lamarche

Katy Le Rougetel

Tim Ly

Lawrence Massey

Rollergirl (Angela Dawson)

Satwant K Shottha

John Yano

Wai Young


Brinder Bains (YES Vancouver)

Kelly Alm

Nycki K Basra (Vancouver 1st)

Taqdir (Taq) Kaur Bhanda (Independent)

Rebecca Bligh (Vision)

Story continues below advertisement

Sarah Blyth (Independent)

Christine Boyle (One City)

Barbara Buchanan

Diego Cardona (Vision Vancouver)

Adriane Carr (Vancouver Greens)

Glynnis Chan (YES Vancouver)

Ken Charko (Coalition Vancouver)

Glen Chernen (Coalition Vancouver)

Graham Cook (Independent)

Cord “Ted” Copeland

Breton Crellin (ProVancouver)

Adrian Crook (Independent)

Melissa De Genova (NPA)

Heather Deal (Vision)

Melissa De Genova (NPA)

Lisa Dominato (NPA)

Hamdy El-Rayes

Catherine Evans (Vision)

Larry J Falls

Marlo Franson

Pete Fry (Vancouver Greens)

Story continues below advertisement

Hsin-Chen Fu

Justin P. Goodrich (NPA)

Wade Grant

David Grewal (NPA)

Colleen Hardwick (NPA)

Ashley Hughes

Jesse Johl (Vancouver 1st)

Gordon T Kennedy

Abubakar Khan

Sarah Kirby-Yung (NPA)

Anastasia Koutalianos

Lisa Kristiansen

Morning Li (Coalition Vancouver)

James Lin (Coalition Vancouver)

Ken Low (Vancouver 1st)

John Malusa (Vancouver 1st)

Robert McDowell (Independent)

Herschel Miedzygorski

Raza Mirza (Pro Vancouver)

Michelle C Mollineaux (Vancouver 1st)

Penny Mussio (Coalition Vancouver)

Penny Noble

Story continues below advertisement

Derrick O’Keefe (COPE)

Stephanie Ostler (YES Vancouver)

Tanya Paz (Vision)

Elishia Perosa (Vancouver 1st)

Franco Peta (Coalition Vancouver)

Spike Peachy (Independent)

Elke Porter (Independent)

Francisco (Jojo) Quimpo (NPA)

Katherine Ramdeen

Francoise Raunet (Independent)

Rohana Rezel (ProVancouver)

Anne Roberts (COPE)

Erin Shum (Independent)

John Spark

Jean Swanson (COPE)

Phyllis Tang (YES Vancouver)

Elizabeth Taylor (Vancouver 1st)

Jaspreet Virdi (YES Vancouver)

Michael Wiebe (Vancouver Greens)

David Wong (Vancouver Greens)

Jason Xie (Coalition Vancouver)

Story continues below advertisement

Brandon Yan (One City)

Wei Qiao Zhang (Formerly Vision Vancouver, independent as of Oct. 19)


B.C.’s biggest city is in Metro Vancouver and bordered by Burnaby, the Fraser River, English Bay and the Burrard Inlet.

Population (2016)



Home to Indigenous Peoples for generations, Vancouver had an industry boom in the 1800s. Logging, gold and fur trading made the area an economic centre.

In 1867, “Gassy Jack” Deighton opened a saloon for forestry workers on the shore of Burrard Inlet. The drinking hole was so popular the community around it was called Gastown.

In 1884, the Canadian Pacific Railway moved its terminal from the head of Burrard Inlet to the area now known as Coal Harbour. A few years later, in 1886, the city was incorporated as the City of Vancouver, as it had a population of about 1,000 people. The first mayor was M.A. McLean. That summer a brush fire burned the city to the ground in less than 30 minutes.

One of the city’s favourite tourist destinations, English Bay beach, was sandless until 1898. Visitors had to walk through bushes to reach the water and a large rock on the beach separated men and women bathers.

Story continues below advertisement

In 1915, the Vancouver Millionaires hoisted the Stanley Cup. It was the same year that the University of British Columbia opened its doors.

In 1954, Vancouver hosted the 5th British Empire and Commonwealth Games.

Thirty-two years later, the city hosted the World’s Fair. Twenty-four after that, in 2010, the city played host to the Winter Olympics.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)


Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016/B.C.

114.47 (+5.19)/93.63 (-0.71)

Violent Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016/B.C.

98.26 (-7)/74.86 (-9.81)

Political representation


Hedy Fry (Liberal) – Vancouver Centre

Don Davies (NDP) – Vancouver Kingsway

Jenny Kwan (NDP) – Vancouver East

Joyce Murray (Liberal) – Vancouver Quadra

Harjit Sajjan (Liberal) – Vancouver South

Jody Wilson-Raybould (Liberal) – Vancouver Granville

Story continues below advertisement


Spencer Chandra-Herbert (B.C. NDP) – Vancouver-West End

George Chow (B.C. NDP) – Vancouver-Fraserview

Adrian Dix (B.C. NDP) – Vancouver-Kingsway

David Eby (B.C. NDP) – Vancouver-Point Grey

Mable Elmore (B.C. NDP) – Vancouver-Kensington

George Heyman (B.C. NDP) – Vancouver-Fairview

Michael Lee (B.C. Liberal) – Vancouver-Langara

Melanie Mark (B.C. NDP) – Vancouver-Mount Pleasant

Shane Simpson (B.C. NDP) – Vancouver-Hastings

Sam Sullivan (B.C. Liberal) – Vancouver-False Creek

Andrew Wilkinson (B.C. Liberal) – Vancouver-Quilchena

Sponsored content