B.C. Liberal cabinet sworn in but defeat looms for minority government

Click to play video: 'Premier swears in ‘short-lived’ cabinet' Premier swears in ‘short-lived’ cabinet
More than a month after the May provincial election, Christy Clark and her cabinet of ministers were sworn in today in Victoria. The Liberals are expected to face a confidence vote when the Legislature returns June 22 – Jun 12, 2017

British Columbia Premier Christy Clark’s new cabinet has been sworn in, but it could be a temporary Liberal government.

Clark’s 22-member cabinet has five new ministers including Ellis Ross, B.C.’s first indigenous cabinet minister with a portfolio as he takes over at natural gas development and housing.

“The new cabinet does reflect some new perspectives based on what we heard during the election,” she said.

Clark said her government will introduce a political agenda in its throne speech when the legislature is recalled June 22. She also said the government will put forward a Liberal member to serve as Speaker, but she didn’t mention who that person would be.

WATCH: Christy Clark announces new cabinet

Story continues below advertisement

“We will have an ambitious agenda,” she said. “That’s the duty I have as premier.”

Her minority government is expected to lose a vote of confidence in the days following the return of the legislature.

Clark said last month’s provincial election made two things clear: people want a government that works across party lines and one that will bridge urban and rural divides.

READ MORE: B.C. premier sticks to rules, isn’t going anywhere

No political party secured a majority, but the three Green members have placed their support behind the New Democratic Party, allowing NDP Leader John Horgan to form a minority government if the Liberals fall.

Here is a full list of Clark’s cabinet:

— Andrew Wilkinson, justice minister and attorney general.

— Norm Letnick, agriculture minister.

— Stephanie Cadieux, children and family development minister.

— Mike Bernier, education minister.

— Mary Polak, health minister.

— Mike de Jong, finance minister.

— Steve Thomson, minister of forests, lands and natural resource operations.

Story continues below advertisement

— Donna Barnett, minister of state for rural economic development.

— Teresa Wat, minister of international trade, minister responsible for the Asia Pacific strategy and multiculturalism.

— Shirley Bond, minister of jobs, tourism and skills training, minister responsible for labour.

— Mike Morris, solicitor general and public safety minister.

— Coralee Oakes, minister of small business and red tape reduction, minister responsible for the liquor distribution branch.

— Rich Coleman, energy and mines minister.

— Michelle Stilwell, minister of social development and social innovation.

— Todd Stone, minister of transportation and infrastructure.

— Ellis Ross, minister of natural gas development, minister responsible for housing.

— Jas Johal, minister of technology, innovation and citizens’ services.

— Sam Sullivan, minister of community, sport and cultural development.

— Jordan Sturdy, environment minister.

— Linda Reid, minister of advanced education.

Sponsored content