Canada election results: Mirabel

Bloc Québécois candidate Jean-Denis Garon is the projected winner in the riding of Mirabel.

The riding includes the city of Mirabel and extends north and east of Montreal.

Mirabel consists of a mostly francophone population, with close to three per cent being immigrants.

According to a 2016 census, the population of Mirabel has increased by 20.4 per cent since 2011. Almost 56 per cent of the population in this riding has some form of post-secondary credential.

Incumbent Bloc Québécois candidate Simon Marcil was re-elected in this riding in 2019, collecting 51.1 per cent of the vote and beating Liberal candidate Karl Trudel by 26.2 per cent.

Mirabel is a fairly new riding, created in 2013 and electing its first MP in 2015. It was created from the district of Argenteuil—Papineau—Mirabel, Rivière-des-Mille-Îles, Terrebonne-Blainville and Rivière-du-Nord.

Story continues below advertisement

In 2015, the Bloc’s Marcil was elected MP. In 2018, Marcil, along with six other Bloc MPs, resigned from office due to conflicts with then-Bloc leader Martine Ouellet. After Ouellet resigned, Marcil rejoined the party.

He announced in January 2021 that he would not be seeking another mandate, citing the need to spend more time with family.


Bloc Québécois: Jean-Denis Garon

Conservative Party: Catherine Lefebvre

Free Party Canada: Ariane Croteau

Green Party: Mario Guay

Liberal Party: François Loza

NDP: Benoit Bourassa

People’s Party of Canada: Christian Monpetit

Sponsored content