B.C. election 2020: Oak Bay-Gordon Head results

Oak Bay-Gordon Head has been a Green riding now since 2013 but almost solely due to Andrew Weaver’s own popularity.

But with the former Green leader not running again, Global News is projecting Murray Rankin of the BC NDP will take this seat. He is one of five former MPs running for the NDP.

What makes this riding so fascinating is it is the only riding in the province that has had a Social Credit, NDP, Liberal and Green MLA. (Saanich North and the Islands are close but was only created in 1991).


Click to play video: 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

The BC Liberals held this riding from 1996 to 2013 with Ida Chong as the candidate. The BC Liberals nominated lawyer Roxanne Helme for this election.

Story continues below advertisement

Weaver won a decisive victory in 2017, pulling in 15,257 votes. Liberal Alex Dutton finished second with 6,952 votes and New Democrat Bryce Casavant was third with 6,912.

Nicole Duncan is the BC Greens candidate in the riding.

Click to play video: 'Oak Bay-Gordon Head a riding to watch' Oak Bay-Gordon Head a riding to watch
Oak Bay-Gordon Head a riding to watch – Oct 17, 2020


  • BC Liberals: Roxanne Helme
  • BC NDP: Murray Rankin
  • BC Greens: Nicole Duncan
  • Communist Party of BC: Florian Castle

Swing riding meter

The riding is the only one in BC that has been won by the Greens, NDP, Liberals and Social Credit Party. The Green Party has won the seat in the last two elections.

Oak Bay-Gordon Head was the 71st closest riding in the province based on the winning percentage. Weaver won by 28.46 per cent. It was the third closest of the three seats won by the Greens.

Story continues below advertisement

2017 election results

  • BC Greens: Andrew Weaver, 15,405 votes (52.2%)
  • BC Liberals: Alex Dutton, 7,008 votes (23.74%)
  • BC NDP: Bryce Casavant, 6,972 votes (23.63%)
  • Vancouver Island Party: Jin Dong Yang-Riley, 66 votes (0.23%)
  • 4BC: Xaanja Ganja, 59 votes (0.20%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest candidate information, candidate interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.

Sponsored content