B.C. election 2020: Richmond-Queensborough results

Aman Singh of the BC NDP is projected to win in Richmond-Queensborough.

The Richmond-Queensborough race was surprisingly close in 2017. The new riding was won by BC Liberal Jas Johal over BC NDP hopeful Aman Singh by just 136 votes.

Read more: B.C. election 2020: Aman Singh projected to win Richmond-Queensborough

What made the margin especially stunning was Johal outspent Singh by fives times. That didn’t happen this time around.

Johal is one of his party’s most recognizable MLAs and ran again with the hopes of saving the seat. His party relied on his name recognition and work in the riding to counter the BC NDP’s popularity in the polls in Metro Vancouver.

Singh, a human rights lawyer, hoped parlay a successful campaign three years ago into a victory this time around.

Story continues below advertisement

The Richmond part of the riding was strong for the Liberals last time, while the New Westminster part leaned NDP.

Click to play video: 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

Nominated Candidates

  • BC Liberals: Jas Johal
  • BC NDP: Aman Singh
  • BC Green Party: Earl Einarson
  • Conservative: Kay Hale

Swing Riding Meter

There is a very little sample size in Richmond-Queensborough. It was contested in 2017 for the first time and went to the BC Liberals.

It was the fourth-closest race in the province out of 87 ridings, based on winning percentage. Johal won by 1.4 per cent in the Liberals’ second closest finish.

Election Results 2017

  • BC Liberals: Jas Johal, 7,525 votes (41.7%)
  • BC NDP: Aman Singh, 7,262 votes (40.3%)
  • BC Greens: Michael Wolfe, 2,311 votes (12.8%)
  • BC Conservatives: Kay Khilvinder Hale, 635 votes (3.5%)
  • New Republican: Lawrence Chen, 294 votes (1.6%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect the latest candidate information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Story continues below advertisement

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.

Sponsored content