B.C. election 2020: Surrey-Whalley results

Incumbent Bruce Ralston of the BC NDP is projected to win the seat in the riding of Surrey-Whalley.

Surrey’s downtown core has been the core of the BC NDP’s support the city for a long time.

The party has held the riding of Surrey-Whalley since it was created in 1991 in every election except 2001.

Incumbent energy minister Ralston sought re-election and has served constituents since 2005. He served as jobs minister until he was shuffled into the energy portfolio.

BC Liberal candidate Shaukat Khan is the past president of the Pakistan Canada Association.

Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

Nominated Candidates

  • BC NDP: Bruce Ralston
  • BC Liberals: Shaukat Khan
  • B.C. Vision: Jag Bhandari
  • Communist Party of B.C.: Ryan Abbott

Swing Riding Meter

Surrey-Whalley has been won by the NDP in every election since 1991, except for 2001.

Story continues below advertisement

It was the 72nd closest race in the 2017 election based on winning percentage. Ralston won by 28.54 per cent, with about 4,300 votes.

Election Results 2017

  • BC NDP: Bruce Ralston, 10,315 votes (58.62%)
  • BC Liberal: Sargy Chima, 5,293 votes (30.08%)
  • BC Green: Rita Anne Fromholt, 1,893 votes (10.76%)
  • Communist: George Gidora, 96 votes (0.54%)

​This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.