B.C. election 2020: Skeena results

Ellis Ross of the BC Liberals is projected to win the swing riding of Skeena.

Skeena has gone to the BC Liberal, BC NDP and Social Credit parties over the last 40 years.

The NDP has held it for a good chunk of the last 30 years, sending MLAs to Victoria between 1991 and 2001, and in 2005 and 2017.

But its big gains in Metro Vancouver in 2017 were offset by the ceding of Skeena to Ross.

Ross is the former chief councillor of the Haisla Nation and a supporter of the province’s liquefied natural gas industry and is running again.

The former chief councillor says he is running again to ‘see our economy in Skeena reach its full potential’.

Story continues below advertisement

“The skills I developed from my previous role focused on environmental assessments, aboriginal rights and title and economic independence – and that’s what I want for Skeena,”

“That means saying yes to highly reviewed projects and development that create good, high-paying jobs for our citizens so our kids and grandkids have a future in the area. I am also looking at ways to bring value-added projects that will further develop the region.”

The riding is made up of Terrace and the communities of Kitsumkalum, Kitselas, Nisga’a, Kitimat, Thornhill and Kitamaat Village.

The BC NDP nominated Nicole Halbauer, the chair of the board of directors at Coast Mountain College and a member of Kitsumkalum in the Tsimshian Nation

Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

Nominated Candidates

  • BC Liberals: Ellis Ross
  • BC NDP: Nicole Halbauer
  • Independent: Martin Holzbauer

Swing Riding Meter

The BC Liberals won in 2017, but the New Democrats feel it’s their traditional turf, having won it in five of the last seven elections.

Story continues below advertisement

Ross won in 2017 by 8.94 per cent. It was the 15th closest race that year, and the eighth closest of the 43 seats the Liberals won.

2017 Election Results

  • BC Liberals: Ellis Ross — 6,772 votes (52.23%)
  • BC NDP: Bruce Bidgood — 5,613 votes (43.29%)
  • Land Air Water: Merv Ritchie — 580 votes (4.48%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest candidate information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.