New Brunswick election: Southwest Miramichi-Bay du Vin

Voters in the riding of Southwest Miramichi-Bay du Vin reelected PC incumbent Jake Stewart in the 2020 election.

Riding background

The 2013 redistricting saw the riding of Southwest Miramichi absorb parts of the former district of Miramichi-Bay du Vin, which were outside of the city of Miramichi.

As a result, the riding was renamed to Southwest Miramichi-Bay du Vin. It is geographically one of the largest ridings in the province.


Liberal: Josh McCormack

Progressive Conservative: Jake Stewart (incumbent)

  • Served as Minister of Aboriginal Affairs

NDP:  Glenna Hanley

Story continues below advertisement

People’s Alliance:  Arthur O’Donnell



PC incumbent Jake Stewart retained his seat with 35.4 per cent of the vote, edging out People’s Alliance candidate Art O’Donnell, who earned 35 per cent of the vote.

Only 35 votes separated the two of them.

Liberal candidate Andy Hardy earned 22.8 per cent of the vote.


Jake Stewart, the Tory incumbent for Southwest Miramichi, re-offered in the 2014 election.

Stewart defeated Liberal candidate Norma Smith and Wes Gullison, then-leader of the People’s Alliance, in the election.


PC candidate Jake Stewart defeated Liberal incumbent Rick Brewer in the 2010 election for the riding of Southwest Miramichi.

Liberal incumbent Bill Fraser retained his seat in the 2010 election. Fraser defeated Tory candidate Joan Cripps.