New Brunswick election: Caraquet

Liberal incumbent Isabelle Thériault retains Caraquet seat in the 2020 election.

Riding background

This riding includes the communities of Bas-Caraquet, Caraquet, Grande-Anse, Maisonnette and Paquetville.

Caraquet has been a Liberal riding in all but two elections since 1974.


Liberal: Isabelle Thériault (incumbent)

Progressive Conservative: Kevin J. Haché

Green: Marie-Christine Haché



There was no incumbent candidate as Hédard Albert, who had held this riding since 2003 for the Liberals, chose to not run for re-election.

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal candidate Isabelle Thériault won 63.8 per cent of the vote, defeating PC candidate Kevin Haché, who earned only 21.5 per cent of the vote.

NDP candidate Katy Casavant took home 6.4 per cent of the vote, Independent candidate Guilmond Hébert earned 4.4 per cent and Green Party candidate Tvon Durelle earned 3.9 per cent.


Hédard Albert retained the riding of Caraquet with 56.8 per cent of the popular vote. PC candidate Suzanne Morais-Vienneau captured 21.9 per cent, NDP candidate Mathieu Chayer took 19.0 per cent, and Green candidate Sophie Chiasson-Gould 2.3 per cent.


Liberal incumbent Hédard Albert won with 50.1 per cent of the vote.