2019 Canada election results: Markham–Thornhill

Global News has declared Mary Ng of the Liberal Party of Canada the winner of Markham–Thornhill.

Mary Ng was John McCallum’s replacement as the riding’s Liberal MP in 2017.


Liberal: Mary Ng
Conservative: Alex Yuan
NDP: Paul Sabhaz
Green: Christopher Williams
PPC: Peter Remedios

Markham-Thornhill riding contains of parts of Markham and Thornhill in the sourthern part of York Region.

The riding is largely made up by the old riding of Markham—Unionville and the eastern portion of the old Thornhill riding. Its boundaries are Bayview Avenue on the west, Highway 407 on the north, Rouge River on the east and Steeles Avenue East on the south.

Markham-Thornhill area has been primarily Conservative in recent years but the riding is fairly new. It was created by the 2012 federal electoral boundaries redistribution and was legally defined in the 2013 representation order. It came into effect upon the writ drop for the 2015 federal election.

Story continues below advertisement

The riding has a population of 99,078 people and is 41.89 square kilometres wide according to the most recent census.

Sponsored content