2019 Canada election results: Egmont

Incumbent Liberal Robert Morrissey has won the riding of Egmont.

With 87 out of 90 polls reporting, Global News has declared Morrissey the winner of this riding.

Morrissey earned 49 per cent of the vote in 2015 to take the seat from Conservative incumbent Gail Shea.

He is a longtime politician who served in provincial politics for 20 years before making a jump to the federal level.


Liberal: Bobby Morrissey (Incumbent)

Conservative: Logan McLellan

NDP: Sharon Dunn

Green: Alex Clark

Global News is featuring the candidates for all parties running candidates in the upcoming 2019 general election. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Canada. 

Story continues below advertisement


This riding covers the western portion of Prince Edward Island and consists of the community of Sherbrooke, City of Summerside and Lennox Island.

More geographical information on the electoral district can be found at Elections Canada. 


Egmont was Conservative from 1968 to 1972 before turning into a solid Liberal riding for the next 24 years.

In 2008, PC candidate Gail Shea was elected. She’d go on to become a cabinet minister under then-prime minister Stephen Harper before being defeated in the red wave that swept through Atlantic Canada.

Sponsored content