Alberta election: Edmonton-Strathcona results

Global News projects NDP Rachel Notley win in Edmonton-Stratcona.

Below is a list of the incumbent and candidates in the riding of Edmonton-Strathcona, a riding that covers several neighbourhoods in south-central Edmonton, stretching from the North Saskatchewan River in the north to Whitemud Drive in the south.

Quick take

This riding is an NDP stronghold. Premier Rachel Notley has held the riding since she was first elected as an MLA in 2008.


NDP: Rachel Notley (Incumbent)
United Conservative Party: Kulshan Gill
Alberta Party: Prem Pal
Alberta Liberal Party: Samantha Hees
Green Party: Stuart Andrews
Alberta Independence Party: Ian Smythe
Alberta Advantage Party: Don Meister
Independent: Gord McLean
Communist Party of Alberta: Naomi Rankin


Since the mid-1980s, the constituency has been one of the more left-leaning ridings in Edmonton, having been held by either the NDP (1986-1993, 1997-present) or the Liberals (1993-1997) without interruption.

Story continues below advertisement

In the 2015 provincial election, it was the only riding in the province that did not have a Wildrose Party candidate.

Sponsored content