Alberta Election: Calgary-Elbow results

Global News projects that Doug Schweitzer will take the riding of Calgary-Elbow for the United Conservative Party (UCP).

Below is a full list of the incumbent and candidates in the riding of Calgary-Elbow.

Quick take

The incumbent Greg Clark served as leader of the Alberta Party until February 2018 when Stephen Mandel became the leader.


Alberta Party: Greg Clark (Incumbent)

NDP: Janet Eremenko

United Conservative Party: Doug Schweitzer

Liberal Party: Robin Mackintosh

Green Party: Quinn Rupert


The south-central riding of Calgary-Elbow was created in 1971 and held by the Progressive Conservatives, including former premiers Ralph Klein and Alison Redford, for all but one year when the party lost the riding in a 2007 byelection to the Liberals, reclaiming the riding in the 2008 general election.

Story continues below advertisement

It was the home riding of former Premier Ralph Klein between 1989 and January 2007.

Greg Clark of the Alberta Party took the seat in 2015.

Sponsored content