Alberta Election: Calgary-Currie results

UCP candidate Nicholas Milliken won the legislative seat for Calgary-Currie after NDP incumbent Brian Malkinson tweeted his concession in the race on Friday, April 19.

Quick take

Incumbent NDP MLA Brian Malkinson is seeking re-election in Calgary-Currie in 2019.


NDP: Brian Malkinson (Incumbent)

United Conservative Party: Nicholas Milliken

Alberta Party: Lindsay Luhnau

Liberal Party: Joshua Codd


Calgary-Currie includes communities such as Sunalta and Westgate. It has largely elected PCs since 1971, with the exception of two Liberal wins, in 2004 and 2008.

Story continues below advertisement

The PC’s Christine Cusanelli won in 2012 with 45 per cent of the vote. She had also served as the minister for Tourism, Parks and Recreation.

This riding was part of the 2015 orange crush, which saw the Alberta NDP stomp out a 44-year Progressive Conservative dynasty in the province.

The riding is named after Currie Barracks on the west side of Crowchild Trail.

Sponsored content