March 17, 2019 8:00 am
Updated: April 16, 2019 11:24 pm

Alberta election: Chestermere-Strathmore results


Global News projects that Leela Aheer will take the riding of Chestermere-Strathmore for the United Conservative Party (UCP).

Below is a full list of the candidates in the riding of Chestermere-Strathmore, an area just east of Calgary.

Quick take

Leela Aheer, current MLA for Chestermere-Rocky View, won the former riding in 2015 for the Wildrose. Then the parties merged and Aheer served as UCP deputy leader.

The boundaries for this riding were redrawn since the last provincial election.

Story continues below

The lead-up to the election included a UCP nomination race fraught by confrontations, allegations and even a restraining order application (which was later discontinued).

This riding also sees the leader of the Freedom Conservative Party, leader Derek Fildebrandt, a former UCP MLA for Brooks.


United Conservative Party: Leela Aheer

NDP: Melissa Langmaid

Freedom Conservative Party: Derek Fildebrandt

Alberta Independence Party: Roger Dean Walker

Alberta Liberal Party: Sharon L. Howe

Alberta Party: Jason Avramenko

Independent: Terry Nicholls


In the 2015 election, incumbent PC MLA Bruce McAllister was narrowly defeated by Wildrose candidate Aheer.

McAllister was elected as a Wildrose candidate in 2012, but crossed the floor to join the Progressive Conservatives in December of 2014.

© 2019 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.