New Brunswick election: Carleton-Victoria

Riding background

The electoral district includes the northern parts of Carleton County and the southern and eastern portions of Victoria County.


Liberal: Andrew Harvey (incumbent)

Progressive Conservative: Margaret C. Johnson

NDP: Margaret Geldart

Green: Paula Shaw

People’s Alliance: Terry Sisson

KISS N.B. Carter Edgar



2014 was the first time that Carleton-Victoria was contested, having been created in 2013, combining parts of the former Carleton and Victoria-Tobique electoral districts.

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal candidate Andrew Harvey defeated a field that included independent Terry Ritchie, the mayor of Perth-Andover, who sparked controversy after allegedly confronting a local businessman and ignoring the direction of council.

Harvey earned 40.8 per cent of the vote while his closest challenger, PC candidate Colin Lockhart won 39.8 per cent of the vote.  


The Carleton and Victoria-Tobique ridings had previously voted PC in the 2010 election but were split between Liberals and PCs before that.