B.C. municipal election 2018: Sun Peaks results

Incumbent Al Raine is the mayor of Sun Peaks by acclamation.

Raine ran unopposed for his fourth term as mayor. Incumbent councillors Ines Popig and Mario Pozza were also re-elected, along with newcomer Rob O’Toole.

Below is the full list of mayoral and councillor candidates in Sun Peaks.



Al Raine (incumbent)


Katheryn Coleman

Mike Grenier

Bruce Mitchell

Rob O’Toole

Ines Popig (incumbent)

Story continues below advertisement

Mario Pozza (incumbent)


Sun Peaks is located in B.C.’s Interior, about 56 kilometres from Kamloops.

Population (2016)



B.C.’s fastest growing resort municipality.”

That’s what Sun Peaks Resort proclaimed of the town where it lies, in a news release last year.

The 2016 Census showed that it recorded a 66 per cent increase in population, growing from 371 to 616 in the past five years.

Incorporated in 2010, Sun Peaks became a municipality following the establishment of legislation that allowed for the creation of a “mountain municipality,” according to the Sun Peaks Independent News.

Under that legislation, one of the council members is a representative of the Sun Peaks Resort Corporation, which runs the ski resort.

Median after-tax income of households (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Cathy McLeod (Conservative)

Story continues below advertisement


Peter Milobar (BC Liberal)