B.C. municipal election 2018: Sparwood results

David Wilks has been elected mayor of Sparwood, winning 55.5 per cent of the vote against challengers Joyce Kutzner and Joanne Wilton, according to unofficial results posted by CivicInfo BC. It will be Wilks’ first term as mayor, replacing the outgoing Cal McDougall.

In council, incumbents John Baher, Brad Bowen and Joe Jarina have all been elected to another term. They’ll be joined by first-time candidates Jason Christensen, Amy Cardozo and Sonny Saad.

Below is the full list of the candidates for mayor and council.



Joyce Kutzner

David Wilks

Joanne Wilton


Wendy Angus

Story continues below advertisement

John Baher (incumbent)

Hungry Baytaluke

Brad Bowen (incumbent)

Amy Cardozo

Jason Christensen

Josh Frere

Joe Jarina (incumbent)

Art Mortimer

Sonny Saad

Simon Senycz


The District of Sparwood is located along the Elk River near B.C.’s border with Alberta, and about 30 kilometres north of Fernie.

Population (2016)



Sparwood was one of three communities that sprung up amid mining activity in eastern B.C. in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

The other communities, Natal and Michel, would see its residents move to Sparwood amid a heavy concentration of coal dust.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Story continues below advertisement

Political representation


Wayne Stetski (NDP)


Tom Shypitka (BC Liberal)