B.C. municipal election 2018: Oak Bay results

Change is coming in Oak Bay. Incumbent Nils Jensen only earned 29.8 per cent of the vote, not enough to beat Kevin Murdoch with 70.2 per cent, according to unofficial results from CivicInfo BC.

Incumbent councillors Hazel Braithwaite and Tara Ney were also re-elected, along with newcomers Andrew Appleton, Cairine Green, Esther Paterson, Eric Zhelka

Below is the full list of mayoral and councillor candidates in Oak Bay.



Nils Jensen (incumbent)

Kevin Murdoch


Andrew Appleton

Hazel Braithwaite (incumbent)

Anton Brakage

Story continues below advertisement

Cairine Green

Isabella Lee

Tara Ney (incumbent)

Esther Paterson

Andrew Stinson

Ronald Telfer

Eric Zhelka (incumbent)


Oak Bay is located at the southern tip of Vancouver Island, around four kilometres east of Victoria.

Population (2016)



Indigenous peoples lived in the Oak Bay area before European explorers came in the 18th century.

They would establish Fort Victoria in 1843, at a time when the Hudson’s Bay Company controlled much of the land.

Incorporated as a municipality in 1906, with much of the community planned out, though still undeveloped, by 1913.

Hudson’s Bay Company continued to own much of the land, gradually selling it off for residential purposes, finally selling the last of its holdings to the University of Victoria after its relationship with Oak Bay broke down in 1960.

Story continues below advertisement

Oak Bay Marina would be established in the early 1960s.

Homes in Oak Bay maintain a heritage character, with a number of them built in the arts and crafts, Art Deco and Tudor styles.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

28.88 (-10.67)/93.63 (-0.71)

Violent Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

10.25 (+21.30)/74.86 (-9.81)

Political representation


Murray Rankin (NDP)


Andrew Weaver (BC Greens)