B.C. municipal election 2018: Hudson’s Hope results

Dave Heiberg was acclaimed as mayor in the District of Hudson’s Hope.

Council will be made of up incumbents Travous Quibell, Mattias Gibbs and Kelly Miller, as well as newcomers Patricia Markin, Valerie Paice and Leigh Summer.



Dave Heiberg – acclaimed


Mattias Gibbs (incumbent)

Joseph King

Patricia Markin

Kelly Miller (incumbent)

Valerie Paice

Travous Quibell (incumbent)

Leigh Summer

Story continues below advertisement


Hudson’s Hope is located along the Peace River in B.C.’s north, just under 90 kilometres from Fort St. John.

Population (2016)



First, there were dinosaurs, leaving behind fossilized tracks that are visible even today.

Then, the area now known as Hudson’s Hope, was home to the Dane-zaa people, who would hunt, fish, trap and live there.

Alexander Mackenzie came upon the area in 1793, and Simon Fraser came after in 1805, building the first settlement, known as the Rocky Mountain Portage Fort.

That settlement was abandoned and moved twice, finally ending up north of the Peace River.

Hudson’s Hope was first recorded as the name of a place in 1869.

The W.A.C Bennett Dam would begin construction in 1962 and finish construction in 1968.

It would become B.C.’s biggest power producer, with a capacity of 2.73-million kW.

The Peace Canyon Dam would be finished in 1980.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Story continues below advertisement

Political representation


Bob Zimmer (Conservative)


Dan Davies (BC Liberal)

  • Featured photo via Flickr Creative Commons, Attribution 2.0 Generic Licence