Hockey Canada names team for delayed women’s world under 18 hockey championship

Canada’s under-18 women’s hockey team for the world championship was announced for the second time in less than five months Monday.

The three goaltenders, seven defenders and 13 forwards chosen by Hockey Canada will wear the Maple Leaf at the women’s world under-18 hockey championship June 6-13 in Madison and Middleton, Wis.

That tournament was relocated and rescheduled from Linkoping and Mjolby, Sweden, in January.

The championship was called off less than two weeks before opening because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

It was unclear then whether the tournament would happen in 2022, and in recognition of players’ efforts to make the team, Hockey Canada announced a roster Jan. 20.

Story continues below advertisement

All those players were invited to try out again at a selection camp in Calgary. All but two forwards and a defender were named to the squad a second time.

The team of players born in 2004 and 2005 was chosen by head coach Howie Draper, assistants Vicky Sunohara, Tara Watchorn and goaltending coach Gord Woodhall, in consultation with director of hockey operations Gina Kingsbury and scouting and player development manager Cherie Piper.

Click to play video: 'Women’s hockey Olympic medallist Meaghan Mikkelson surprises Edmonton elementary school'
Women’s hockey Olympic medallist Meaghan Mikkelson surprises Edmonton elementary school

Jade Iginla, daughter of Hockey Hall of Famer Jarome Iginla, was among the 13 forwards named.

She’s joined up front by Rhea Hicks, McKenna Van Gelder, Emmalee Paid, Alex Law, Avi Adam, Reichen Kirchmair, Jordan Baxter, Jocelyn Amos, Alexia Aubin, Madison Chantler, Holly Abela and Karel Prefontaine.

Sarah Swiderski Tova Henderson, Sarah MacEachern, Brooke Disher, Ava Murphy, Alyssa Regalado and Piper Grober were the defenders chosen.

Story continues below advertisement

Hailey MacLeod, Lucy Phillips and Mari Pietersen were the goaltenders selected.

The 2021 women’s under-18 hockey championship in Linkoping and Mjolby was cancelled because of the pandemic, so players born in 2003 didn’t get the chance to play in it.

Canada is in Group A in Wisconsin alongside Finland, Sweden and the United States. Group B includes Czechia, Germany, Slovakia and Switzerland.

The Canadians open the preliminary round against the Finns on June 6 followed by the Swedes on June 7 and the U.S. on June 9.

Sponsored content