BC Liberals set choose new leader on Feb. 5, 2022

Liberal Leader Andrew Wilkinson removes his face mask before speaking during a campaign stop in Vancouver, on Saturday, September 26, 2020. A provincial election will be held in British Columbia on October 24. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck.

The BC Liberal party is waiting nearly a full year to select its next party leader.

The party’s Leadership Election Organizing Committee announced Friday the new leader would be selected on Feb. 5, 2022.

The voting process for eligible members will begin on Feb. 3 and end two days later. Someone must be a Liberal member by Dec. 29, 2021 in order to vote for leader.

Voting will be conducted using a one member, one vote preferential ballot system.

Click to play video: 'Andrew Wilkinson is the new leader for the BC Liberals' Andrew Wilkinson is the new leader for the BC Liberals
Andrew Wilkinson is the new leader for the BC Liberals – Feb 5, 2018

Each of the province’s ridings will be given equal weight in balloting and the first candidate to achieve more than 50 per cent of available points will be declared declared the winner.

Story continues below advertisement

“I think we are going to have a broad and diverse set of candidates,” interim leader Shirley Bond said.

“I am looking forward to seeing who will step up. It is a big decision to make. I am confident in the months ahead we will see candidates emerge that will lay out their vision for our province. We know we have our work cut out for us.”

Candidates will be required to pay an entry fee of up to $45,000, plus a $20,000 deposit, in order to compete.

Read more: Andrew Wilkinson formally resigns as BC Liberal leader months after election defeat

Last week Andrew Wilkinson formally stepped down as party leader. Bond has been serving an interim leader since last year.

Click to play video: 'Shirley Bond lays out her priorities as interim leader of the BC Liberal Party' Shirley Bond lays out her priorities as interim leader of the BC Liberal Party
Shirley Bond lays out her priorities as interim leader of the BC Liberal Party – Nov 24, 2020

Former finance minister Kevin Falcon has emerged as the early front runner, but has not formally announced whether he will run again.

Story continues below advertisement

Skeena MLA Ellis Ross has declared his plan to run for leader.

Read more: Liberal MLA Ellis Ross first to announce plans to seek BC Liberal leadership

“If B.C. is looking for a different path, a different attitude, a different mentality then maybe I should throw my hat in the ring,” Ross said when announcing his candidacy.

“It’s out there now. So I will be putting my name in.”

Read more: The BC Liberals are looking for a new leader. Here are some possibilities

BC Liberal MLAs Mike Morris, Tom Shypitka, Renee Merrifield and Michael Lee are still considering whether they will. Gavin Dew and Aaron Gunn are also considering entering the leadership race.

Previous leadership candidates Todd Stone and Dianne Watts have indicated they are not interested this time.

The leadership committee has also built a party unity clause into the rules.

“All Leadership Contestants must undertake in writing to the Party that they will: pledge their support for the Leadership Contestant who is ultimately elected as the Leader and conduct themselves and their campaigns in a manner so as not to bring the Party into disrepute,” the official rules read.


Sponsored content