Women win big in HRM election; Mike Savage returns as mayor

Click to play video: 'HRM Election recap: Mike Savage reacts to third term' HRM Election recap: Mike Savage reacts to third term
We check in with Mayor Mike Savage after he won a third term in the HRM election and will return as Mayor for another four years – Oct 19, 2020

The latest unofficial election results for the Halifax Regional Municipality 2020 election will be released Sunday, said HRM spokesperson Maggie-Jane Spray.

But what’s clear from Saturday night’s ballot counting is more women were elected to HRM council than ever before and Mike Savage will return for a third term as mayor.

Savage captured 80.2 per cent of votes tallied on Sunday.

Opponent Matt Whitman is in second place with 10.5 per cent of the vote. Max Taylor received 9.3 per cent of the votes counted.

Read more: N.S. student mock-election results show Mike Savage re-elected HRM mayor

As of Sunday morning, all councillors had been elected.

Eight of them are women: Cathy Deagle Gammon, Becky Kent, Trish Purdy, Kathryn Morse, Pam Lovelace, Patty Cuttell, Lisa Blackburn and Iona Stoddard.

Story continues below advertisement

Stoddard is the first Black woman, and first woman of colour, to be elected to HRM council since amalgamation in 1996.

Seven incumbents have retained their seats, including Sam Austin, Lindell Smith, Tony Mancini, Waye Mason, Lisa Blackburn and David Hendsbee. Tim Outhit was uncontested and acclaimed councilor for District 16.

Read more: Halifax Regional Municipality 2020 municipal election profile

Here’s a complete list of those elected to Halifax regional council:

  • District 1: Cathy Deagle Gammon
  • District 2: David Hendsbee
  • District 3: Becky Kent
  • District 4: Trish Purdy
  • District 5: Sam Austin
  • District 6: Tony Mancini
  • District 7: Waye Mason
  • District 8: Lindell Smith
  • District 9: Shawn Cleary
  • District 10: Kathryn Morse
  • District 11: Patty Cuttell
  • District 12: Iona Stoddard
  • District 13: Pam Lovelace
  • District 14: Lisa Blackburn
  • District 15: Paul Russell
  • District 16: Tim Outhit

Conseil Scolaire Acadien Provincial candidates Jeff Arsenault, Katherine Howlett and Marc Pinet were acclaimed as trustees for the francophone school board.

Read more: Cape Breton Regional Municipality election results: Amanda McDougall elected mayor

HRM’s Spray said the official election results and the voter turnout will be posted by the middle of next week.

Sponsored content