B.C. election 2020: Cariboo-Chilcotin results

BC Liberal Lorne Doerkson has been elected in the riding of Cariboo-Chilcotin.

The riding has been a reliable BC Liberal seat for more than a decade, but it hasn’t always been a stronghold for the party. The NDP held the seat in its previous incarnation as Cariboo South from 1991 to 2001, and picked it up again in 2005.

Liberal incumbent Donna Barnett, who has held the seat since 2009 and more than doubled the NDP’s vote share in the 2017 election, is not running again.

Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020


  • BC Liberals: Lorne Doerkson
  • BC NDP: Scott Andrews
  • BC Greens: David Laing
  • Libertarian: James Buckley
  • Independent: Katya Potekhina

Swing riding meter

Based on the results of the 2017 election, Cariboo-Chilcotin is unlikely to be in play.

Story continues below advertisement

The BC Liberals won here by a hefty 32.54 per cent margin. There were only 12 races out of 87 where a candidate won by a bigger percentage in 2017. It was the 36th closest of the 43 seats the BC Liberals won.

2017 election results

  • BC Liberal: Donna Barnett — 8,517 votes (58.77%)
  • BC NDP: Sally Watson — 3,801 votes (26.23%)
  • BC Greens: Rita Giesbrecht — 2,175 votes (15%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.