B.C. election 2020: Abbotsford South results

Former mayor Bruce Banman of the BC Liberals is projected to win in Abbotsford South.

Click to play video: 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?'
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?

The riding has historically been a Liberal safe seat. Plecas won by more than 5,000 votes in 2017, securing 11,685 votes to beat BC NDP candidate Jasleen Arora, who had 6,297 votes. The BC Greens finished a distant third.

Story continues below advertisement

The Liberals nominated Banman. Banman is currently an Abbotsford city councillor and served as mayor from 2011 to 2014.

The NDP nominated Inder Johal, who ran unsuccessfully for the party in Langley East in the 2017 provincial election.


  • BC Liberals: Bruce Banman
  • BC NDP: Inder Johal
  • BC Greens: Aird Flavelle
  • Christian Heritage Party: Laura-Lynn Thompson

Swing riding meter

Abbotsford South is not considered a swing riding. The BC Liberals won here by more than 24 per cent in 2017.

2017 election results

  • BC Liberal: Daryl Plecas — 11,683 votes (52.48%)
  • BC NDP: Jasleen Arora — 6,297 votes (28.29%)
  • BC Greens: William Flavelle — 3,338 votes (15%)
  • Christian Heritage Party: Ron Gray — 942 votes (4.23%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.

Sponsored content