2019 Canada election results: Coquitlam-Port Coquitlam

Liberal incumbent Ron McKinnon has narrowly won re-election in the riding of Coquitlam-Port Coquitlam with 34.6 per cent of the vote, earning 19,614 votes.

McKinnon won just 339 more votes than Conservative challenger Nicholas Insley, who won 19,275 votes (34 per cent). The NDP’s Christina Gower came in third with 13,073 votes (23.1 per cent).

McKinnon was one of the biggest surprise winners for the Liberals in 2015, winning with 35.3 per cent of the vote despite spending just $22,000 in the traditionally Conservative riding. The Tories had spent $193,315 trying to get former MLA Doug Horne elected in a seat that had long been held by Tory stalwart James Moore.


Liberal: Ron McKinnon
Conservative: Nicholas Insley
NDP: Christina Gower
Green: Brad Nickason
People’s Party of Canada: Brian Misera
Libertarian: Paul Geddes
Rhinoceros: Ben Waardenburg


The riding encompasses the city of Port Coquitlam, a majority of Coquitlam, Pitt Lake Indian Reserve No. 4 and Coquitlam Indian Reserve No. 2.

Story continues below advertisement

Demographics (2016 census)

European: 63,385, 51.7 per cent
Chinese: 23,995, 19.6 per cent
West Asian: 6,840, 5.6 per cent
Korean: 6,300, 5.1 per cent

Sponsored content