2019 Canada election results: Abbotsford

The Conservatives’ Ed Fast has been re-elected in Abbotsford, Global News projects.

Fast earned 51.6 per cent of the vote, more than doubling the vote share of second place Liberal finisher Seamus Heffernan, who had 21.6 per cent. The NDP’s Madeline Sauvé finished third with 16.8 per cent.

Fast, a former minister of international trade in Stephen Harper’s government, has represented the riding since 2006, a streak of now five straight election victories.

Fast was tested in the 2015 election for the first time in his career in federal politics, winning 48.3 per cent of the vote.

Before the last election, Fast had secured more than 60 per cent of the votes during each federal election.


Conservative: Ed Fast
Liberal: Seamus Heffernan
NDP: Madeleine Sauvé
Green: Stephen Fowler
People’s Party of Canada: James Duncan
Christian Heritage: Aeriol Alderking


The riding includes the southeastern majority of the city of Abbotsford, along with the Upper Sumas Indian Reserve No. 6.

Story continues below advertisement


European: 67,010, 67.4 per cent
South Asian: 17,005, 17.1 per cent
Aboriginal: 6,160, 6.2 per cent
Chinese: 1,775, 1.8 per cent

Sponsored content