2019 Canada election results: Burnaby South

Federal NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh has been re-elected in Burnaby South.

Singh held off challenges by the Conservatives’ Jay Shin and the Liberals’ Neelam Brar to claim victory.

Singh earned 37.5 per cent of the vote while Shin earned 31.1 per cent.

In February, Singh won the Burnaby South byelection in convincing fashion, capturing 8,848 votes, good for 38.9 per cent of the vote. His closest competitor was Liberal candidate Richard T. Lee, who tallied 5,919 votes, which works out to 26 per cent of the vote.

The NDP leader is new to British Columbia, having moved to the riding from his home in Ontario just before the byelection. Part of his promise to voters during the byelection was that he was going to continue to make Burnaby his home and run in the riding in October’s federal election.

Story continues below advertisement

Unlike the byelection campaign, the voters of Burnaby South saw less of Singh during this campaign. As a national party leader, he was out on the campaign trail across the country.

Shin was the only candidate other than Singh who ran in February.


NDP: Jagmeet Singh
Liberal: Neelam Brar
Conservative: Jay Shin
Green: Brennan Wauters
People’s Party of Canada: Al Rawdah


The riding covers the southern portion of Burnaby, excluding the area east of Griffiths Drive, Griffiths Avenue and Burris Street.

Demographics (2016 census)

Chinese: 42,975, 38.7 per cent
European: 35,705, 32.2 per cent
South Asian: 9,315, 8.4 per cent
Filipino: 6,890, 6.2 per cent

Sponsored content