2019 Canada election results: Fredericton

Voters in Fredericton, one of New Brunswick’s three urban ridings, has elected Jenica Atwin of the Green party as their MP in the 2019 election.

The riding was held by Liberal MP Matt DeCourcey.

From 1993 to 2006 this was a solid Liberal riding while it was a PC riding in the decades before that.


Liberal: Matt DeCourcey (Incumbent)

Conservative: Andrea Johnson

NDP: Mackenzie Thomason

Green: Jenica Atwin

PPC: Jason Paull

Libertarian: Brandon Kirby

Communist Party of Canada: Jacob Patterson

Animal Protection Party of Canada: Lesley Thomas

Global News is featuring the candidates for all parties running candidates in the upcoming 2019 general election. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Canada.

Story continues below advertisement


This riding includes New Brunswick’s capital city, as well as rural areas to the north and east.


Liberal MP Andy Scott held this seat from 1993 until his retirement from politics in 2008, when Conservative MP and former cabinet minister Keith Ashfield won. In many ways his victory was a return to form for the riding—Fredericton was a Progressive Conservative seat from 1957 to 1993.

Sponsored content